Tunes for the Songs

I have noticed that most people visiting my site are looking at the Songs page. I am glad you find my eclectic collection useful, but I have been thinking that for many of you it would be more useful with tunes attached. Even though many are what I would consider to be well-known folk songs, I am always amazed at how few folk songs are familiar to people who rely on mainstream media for their music and who have not spend years immersed in folk music. When I do workshops and show people my list of titles or even show them the lyrics, many tell me they do not recognize the songs, let alone know the tunes well enough to sing them.

So I plan to provide tunes, just as soon as I overcome the technical challenges of recording. Even to provide low tech recordings is a challenge for me, so please bear with me. For one thing, I moved last fall and can’t figure out where I put my lovely microphone in this crowded space into which I crammed my stuff willy nilly in a hurry. For another, I seem to remember that I need some sort of adapter to make my microphone work with my computer to record. I will have to cost this out to know if I can do this sooner or later. There is a built-in microphone, and I have used this in the past to make recordings to help my choirs learn their parts. But it is definitely not high quality and I will try to get the real microphone to work if I can.

In the meantime, I would like to make you an offer that has always been there for anyone who comes to my workshops or classes: if you want to learn a tune for any lyric I know, contact me by commenting on the site including your email address, or send me an email (mauradotvolanteatgmaildotcom) and give me your phone number. I will call you (if you are there you can hang up and I will call you back) and sing the song onto your voicemail, so you will have a recording of it you can hear over and over until you get it.

My goal in life is to help as many people as possible make singing a regular part of their lives. If you just need a few tunes to get you singing, I would be happy to help you out; no fee for this service.

If you want more help than that please check out my Singing With Maura page to find out all the ways in which I can help you bring more singing into your life.

About Maura Volante

Maura Volante is a talented and experienced performer. Although she has written many songs over the years, her main focus these days is traditional folk songs. These are songs that have stood the test of time and have an enduring quality that speaks directly and clearly to the human experience. They also tell us about our history. Because these songs are not commonly sung in these post-folk-revival times in which folk music generally means singer-songwriter material, Maura has taken on the project of helping to keep this valuable material alive. Her specialty is Canadian folk songs, but she knows many songs from the British Isles and the USA as well. All her concerts and other programs are designed with group singing in mind. Whether in a concert, a tour, a social gathering, a classroom, a festival or a conference hall, Maura creates an encouraging atmosphere, relaxed and inclusive. She uses her strong voice and facilitation techniques to bring out the best possible music with these voices in this moment. Maura firmly believes that everyone can sing and, moreover, that everyone has a right to sing and be part of group singing activities, without judgement or criticism. No matter what the various skill levels of participants may be in any group singing activity, it always sounds good in a group, because the voices naturally attune with each other. Maura also teaches and calls contra dancing and simpler forms of traditional dancing suitable for all ages, often incorporating group singing into the dancing through the use of play party songs, which are sung by the whole group as they dance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

